h1

Final Thoughts…

June 22, 2011

A couple hours ago, I posted a forceful, mildly serious but passionate response to an article by Damien Franco.  I don’t back off of a word of it.  I believe what I said and feel proud of standing up for my work and the work of others (I feel a bit bad for some of the language though… I try and only talk that way during football season 🙂 )

But I will say the following.  Damien, without ever knowing it, has been a great help to me for a long time.  He often posts great quotes, articles, examples and work that helps make me a better photographer.  I ought to have been more forthcoming in my acknowledgement of all the GOOD things he does for up-and-coming artists.

His response to the post was classy, appreciative and honest, without being apologetic, which is exactly as it should be:

This!

Yes, this is exactly what a good blog post does. I love that you put your passions to words and I love that you took the time to post a full response.

I love that you defended your love of photography, your addiction, whatever you wanna call it.

BTW – Most of my “people photography” these days is of my kiddos.

I have done, and still do, many “rookie” mistakes in my photography from time to time. Any photographer who says they don’t is either lying to you or to themselves.

Thanks for writing this up!

I appreciate most of all, the interaction with someone today whose work I admire and who spends as much time as he does trying to guide those who share his passion.  Follows his thread… you won’t be sorry.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

